Archive for ancient religious

Ancient Religion of Egypt

Posted in HISTORY, Mother Africa with tags , on June 16, 2010 by Mijiza Zeyzey

“I am the Eternal . . . I am that which created the Word . . . I am the Word . . .”

An excerpt from the oldest written text, the Egyptian Book of the Coming Forth by Light, sometimes mistakenly called the Book of the Dead. It  illustrates the belief that creation was by the Word. Egyptian religious text stresses belief in creation by the Word.

In ancient Egypt Ra created words and Ra created things of this world by saying words and it would appear. In the beginning, there was a liquid abyss. Nothing existed but endless liquid.  It was called Nu, Ny, or Nun; the un-polarized state of matter.

According to Egyptian beliefs people are born mortal with the seed of the divine within them. The purpose of life is to nourish the seed within ones’ self and others. If successful, your reward is eternal life.

Symbolic representations of the process of Judgment Day found in Egyptian scribing:

  1. The soul of the deceased is led to the Hall of Judgment. There the Goddess Ma’at uses an ostrich feather to weigh or judge truth.
  2. Anbu guides the deceased to the scale and weighs the heart.
  3. A seated Grand Ancestor, Ausar presides in the Hall of Justice. The jury is made of 42 judges. Each judges a specific sin or fault.
  4. The soul of the deceased denies each sin by reciting the 42 Negative Confessions. Each judge declares acceptance by declaring Mao-Kheru.
  5. Tehuti, scribe of the gods records the verdict. If the pans of the scale are not balanced, it means the person lived only as matter and his heart will be eaten. If the pans of the scale are balanced, it means the person receives his final Maa-Kheru and transitions into rebirth.

Some say the 10 commandments were derived from the 42 Negative Confessions.

The 42 Negative Confessions:

  1. I have not done iniquity.
  2. I have not robbed with violence.
  3. I have not stolen.
  4. I have done no murder; I have done no harm.
  5. I have not defrauded offerings.
  6. I have not diminished obligations.
  7. I have not plundered the neteru.
  8. I have not spoken lies.
  9. I have not uttered evil words.
  10. I have not caused pain.
  11. I have not committed fornication.
  12. I have not caused shedding of tears.
  13. I have not dealt deceitfully.
  14. I have not transgressed.
  15. I have not acted guilefully.
  16. I have not laid waste the ploughed land.
  17. I have not been an eavesdropper.
  18. I have not set my lips in motion (against any man).
  19. I have not been angry and wrathful except for a just cause.
  20. I have not defiled the wife of any man.
  21. I have not been a man of anger.
  22. I have not polluted myself.
  23. I have not caused terror.
  24. I have not burned with rage.
  25. I have not stopped my ears against the words of Right and Truth. (Ma-at)
  26. I have not worked grief.
  27. I have not acted with insolence.
  28. I have not stirred up strife.
  29. I have not judged hastily.
  30. I have not sought for distinctions.
  31. I have not multiplied words exceedingly.
  32. I have not done neither harm nor ill.
  33. I have not cursed the King. (i.e. violation of laws)
  34. I have not fouled the water.
  35. I have not spoken scornfully.
  36. I have never cursed the neteru.
  37. I have not stolen.
  38. I have not defrauded the offerings of the neteru.
  39. I have not plundered the offerings of the blessed dead.
  40. I have not filched the food of the infant.
  41. I have not sinned against the neter of my native town.
  42. I have not slaughtered with evil intent the cattle of the neter.